How to fix “AnyConnect was not able to establish a connection” or “VPN client driver encountered an error” Cisco AnyConnect VPN error messages

I was trying to log into work but had trouble making a VPN connection.  I use Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client.  This post describes how to fix the following error messages when using Windows 8 Pro:

  • AnyConnect was not able to establish a connection to the specified secure gateway.  Please try connecting again.

image

  • The VPN client driver encountered an error.  Please restart your computer or device, then try again.

image

The steps to fix this problem are as follows:

1. Edit a registry entry by running a program called regedit.  Right-click on it and Run as administrator.  Note that I use Start8, by Stardock, to have a Start button and menu.  After you left-click on Run as administrator, your computer might ask you to enter the admin password.

image

2. Go to the appropriate VPN registry directory called Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\vpnva

image

3. Double left-click the DisplayName key.

image

An Edit String pop-up window will appear.

image

The text under the Value data: field on my computer looked like this.

@oem20.inf,%vpnva_Desc%;Cisco AnyConnect VPN Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

4. Change the field to

Cisco AnyConnect VPN Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

by removing all the text and characters that are on the left of the word Cisco.

The end result should look like this:

image

5. Left-click the ‘OK’ button.

6. Exit the Registry Editor

7. Run Cisco AnyConnect VPN Client and reconnect.

That’s all there is to it.  Good luck!

Update : 2/13/2014

I recently updated my computer on February 13, 2014 with Microsoft’s updates and saw that the text under the Value data: field on my computer looked like this:

@oem10.inf,%VPNVA64_Desc%;Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

It is different from what I had originally posted.  I’m not really sure how or why it changed and I don’t have time to find out.  I also updated to Cisco AnyConnect Secury Mobility Client Version 3.1.04066.  As far as I can tell, the value of …

@oem10.inf,%VPNVA64_Desc%;Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

.. works, but the value of

Cisco AnyConnect VPN Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

does not work with Cisco AnyConnect Secury Mobility Client Version 3.1.04066.

Update : 2/15/2014

Changing the Value data: field  to

Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

without

@oem10.inf,%VPNVA64_Desc%;

seems to work better, too.

53 Responses to How to fix “AnyConnect was not able to establish a connection” or “VPN client driver encountered an error” Cisco AnyConnect VPN error messages

  1. Deniz Dogan says:

    This did not work for me (Windows 8).

  2. sdgsf says:

    you saved my day :) thanks!

  3. ericcase says:

    Did not work for me. I still get “The VPN client driver encountered an error. Please restart your computer or device, then try again.”

  4. Satyadeep says:

    Thanks a ton! I tried Cisco VPN for several weeks on my Windows 8, it never worked. Your solution worked like a charm :)

  5. dude says:

    Thanks dude…it works for me :)

  6. Mike says:

    Thanks for posting this. Worked for me.

  7. Worked on Windows 8. Thanks a lot!

  8. Jason says:

    This fixed the issue. Only problem was that the registry entry reverted somehow. Anyway to make it stick?

  9. Pingback: How to fix “AnyConnect was not able to establish a connection” or “VPN client driver encountered an error” Cisco AnyConnect VPN error messages | Jakub Šatánek

  10. Bran Green says:

    Doesn’t work.

  11. Zurab says:

    worked for me on windows 8 64bit thanks.

  12. Cau says:

    you ROCK!! works like a charm! thanks a bunch :-)

  13. Vinay says:

    Thanks a lot sir ji…………tried for two days but no use finally solved with ur instructions. Thanks a lot.

  14. Lijun Wang says:

    Worked for me. You rock! Thanks

  15. Jason says:

    Anyone figure out a way yet to get the registry changes to stick? The instructions in the blog post above work, but every time I want to reconnect, the registry entry has reverted to the previous values. I have to close the AnyConnect client, make the same changes to the registry again, disable/enable my WiFi, etc. I can get it to work again, but only after a great amount of effort. It would be nice to somehow get the registry changes to stick instead so that I don’t have to do all that.

  16. Kishor Dalwadi says:

    I have tried all the suggestion given by you in windows 8 , but sorry to say it’s not worked for me.
    Please give the all the step who was got the success in windows 8.

  17. damdogue says:

    Thanks so much!

  18. jithu says:

    Thanks it worked well

  19. Lucas Raley says:

    did not work for me:(

  20. Harish says:

    One of the issue may be due to Internet Connection Sharing(ICS) …just stop this service and try to connect it will work….

  21. derekvmDerek says:

    Thanks much!! Worked for me first attempt.

  22. Nirav says:

    >> Harish : One of the issue may be due to Internet Connection Sharing(ICS) …just stop this service and try to connect it will work….

    Thanks Harish. It worked :)

  23. Anonymous says:

    FYI, for anyone on a Windows 8 computer who might have the same problem that I had, I figured out how to make the change stick for the following registry entry:

    oem20.inf,%vpnva_Desc%;Cisco AnyConnect VPN Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

    Must be changed to:

    Cisco AnyConnect VPN Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64

    If you find, as I did, that the change keeps reverting back, then you can do the following to prevent that. Of course, after following all of the other recommended advice on this blog page.

    1. Select the registry item, DisplayName.

    2. Select Edit > Permissions…

    3. Click the Advanced button.

    4. A dialogue box will open called “Advanced Security Settings for vpna.”

    5. Select Disable inheritance.

    6. Select SYSTEM and the Edit button.

    7. Un-check “Full Control” (only “Read” will be checked).

    8. Click on “Show advanced permissions” and make sure that “Set Value” is unchecked.

    9. Repeat steps 6 through 8 for other user groups EXCEPT for the one under which you log in as, whether that is Administrators or Users. (If you block *all* users from editing this registry item, I’m afraid you might not be able to make any changes at all, in the future. I did not test this, but I also was not willing to chance it.) Ultimately, the only group who will have Full Control/Set Value permission on the registry items for vpna will be your user account.

    Restart your computer and you should not have any more problems with your registry changing back again. Warning: I haven’t fully tested this on other systems, so try this at your own risk. It’s advisable to back up your registry before making changes. I just know that it worked for me and I hope this information may be helpful for someone else.

  24. Ian Cage says:

    Worked like an absolute charm for me on my Windows Server 2012 Virtual Machine. Without this blog, I wouldn’t have been able to connect my VM to my workplace and I’m have been screwed as I needed to test something requiring connectivity to the network (which they won’t let me do directly).

    Seriously, a million thank you’s. I’ve shared this with our IT guys as well, in case they find an error like this.

  25. lravisngh says:

    If you get this error in Windows make sure you stop Internet Sharing service in Windows services

  26. Edgar says:

    Just download the last version of Anyconnect, it works without problems :)))

  27. It’s a miracle! Works for Windows 8.1

  28. Aryan says:

    Your solution didn’t work for me. But I found another solution which I want to share.
    Open “Network and sharing center”->Go to “Properties” for your active internet connection->Go to “Sharing” tab on “Properties” window-> Uncheck the “Allow other network users to connect through this computer’s internet connection” and click “OK”. After this reconnect to VPN and it worked for me. :)

  29. Joe says:

    This is a generic error, but the DisplayName fix commonly works. Here’s why.
    The VPN software is looking for the exact name of the VPN driver. No idea why it changes or needs an update.

    To make sure you’re using the correct name do this.
    1. Go to Device Manager
    2. Locate the Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility device under Network Adapters
    3. Rt-Click the device and choose Properties.
    4. Click the Details tab
    5. Under Property drop-down choose ‘Device description’ (should be selected already)
    6. In the Value field rt-click on whatever is listed there and choose Copy.

    Now proceed to regedit and change the Display Name as listed in the article.

  30. Bruce Keller says:

    Thank you, thank you. Windows 8.1, and my string is now “Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64″. It works again!! Woohoo!!! Did I say THANK YOU?

    (Needed to reboot to make sure the vpn client *really* restarted and got the new info)

  31. kiran says:

    Thanks a lot. I have wasted so much time. this blog helped me..

  32. Irfan says:

    Great solution worked for me.

  33. Ranny says:

    Thanks!
    You are so brilliant! Worked like a charm.

  34. muneyi says:

    Thanks so much this worked for me

  35. Amrut Pattnaik says:

    Still M getting the error despite following the above procedures.Please help me out.Mine is Windows 8 pro.

    despite giving this value “Cisco AnyConnect VPN Virtual Miniport Adapter for Windows x64″ M unable to connect.The previous value comes up again and again,

    Please help
    .

  36. Jared says:

    I think that this worked thank you so much was a big issue for my work.

  37. Yusuf says:

    Thanks a lot !! You saved the day :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

